
Watercraft Rental Orientation
I understand the number one threat to boaters in Alaska is cold water, regardless of swimming ability or 
experience. Wearing a life jacket is the single most important factor in surviving a cold water immersion 
event.  
I understand passengers and I should each wear a properly fitted and fastened, U.S. Coast Guard 
approved life jacket at all times when in the boat. Each life jacket should be in serviceable condition:
•	 no rips or holes in fabric
•	 no broken zippers, buckles or straps
•	 flotation material not compressed

Alaska law requires children under the age of 13 wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket when in an 
open boat or on the deck of a boat.

•	 maintain three points of contact when inside a small boat 
•	 avoid standing in or moving around inside the boat
•	 avoid overloading the boat
•	 balance and secure loads to avoid shifting, adjust for water conditions
•	 do not reach overboard for objects

I understand that five out of six of Alaska’s fatalities involve a capsizing, swamping or a fall 
overboard, resulting in a cold water immersion related drowning. 

Cold Water and Life Jackets

Preventing Cold Water Immersion
Renter Initial

Renter Initial

I understand under federal and state law it is my responsibility as the boat operator to ensure all legal requirements are met.

Renter Initial

Alaska Requirements

ALASKA REQUIREMENTS SUMMARY
Requirements Boats under 16 feet Boats 16 feet to less than 26 feet Boats 26 feet to less than 40 feet Boats 40 feet to less than 66 feet

Personal Flotation 
Devices (PFD)

One USCG-approved Type I, II, III or V PFD for each person on board. Must be in serviceable condition. Persons under 13 must 
wear a PFD when in an open boat, on the deck of a boat or when waterskiing.

Throwable Devices 
(Type IV)

Recommended but not 
mandatory.

Except for canoes and kayaks, one USCG-approved Type IV (seat cushion or throw ring) device must 
be carried.

Sound Producing 
Devices

Boats less than 39.4 feet (12 meters) in length must be able to make an efficient sound signal 
(such as that made with a whistle or horn) to signal intentions and to signal position in periods of 
reduced visibility.

Boats 39.4 feet (12 meters) or 
more in length must carry on 
board a whistle or horn.

Visual Distress 
Signals

USCG-approved night 
signals required between 
sunset and sunrise.

USCG-approved visual distress signals for both day and night time use must be carried. Exception: 
boats and open sailboats not equipped with mechanical propulsion and under 26 feet in length are not 
required to carry day signals. Note: Pyrotechnic devices, if used to meet this requirement, must be current, serviceable and 
readily accessible. At the minimum, a total of three day/night combination devices or three day and three night devices must be carried.

Fire Extinguishers At least one USCG-approved B-I required for boats with 
inboard engines, living spaces, permanent fuel tanks or 
enclosed storage areas or hull voids not sealed or filled with 
flotation material.

At least two B-I or one B-II 
USCG-approved fire 
extinguishers.

At least three B-I or one B-I and 
one B-II USCG-approved fire 
extinguishers.

Navigation Lights Display required between sunset and sunrise and during periods of restricted visibility. International configuration required (varies 
with length and mode of operation). See the International Navigation Rules.

Backfire Flame 
Arrestors

One USCG-approved backfire control device on each carburetor of all inboard gasoline engines.

Ventilation Boats with permanently installed engines, closed compartments or permanent fuel tanks must have efficient natural or mechanical 
ventilation.

Registration Undocumented boats equipped with mechanical propulsion (gas, diesel or steam engines, and electric motors) and any undocu-
mented vessel used in sport fishing charter activities must be registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles. Certificate of Number 
must be carried onboard. Registration numbers and validation decals must be properly displayed on hull of boat.



State of Alaska Office of Boating Safety
www.alaskaboatingsafety.org

907-269-8706

Boat Operator  (signature)             Date

Vendor   (signature)           	            Date

Boat Operator  (print)                     

Vendor   (print)          	        
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I understand the importance of carrying communication and signaling devices 
ON MY PERSON.

In an emergency, items such as a whistle, a cellular phone in a waterproof 
case, a marine VHF radio or an emergency locator beacon may shorten 
rescue response time considerably.

Complete float plan:

1.	 Description of boat and equipment:__________________________________________________
2.	 Names of persons on boat:________________________________________________________
3.	 Planned destination and route:______________________________________________________
4.	 Expected date and time of return:___________________________________________________
5.	 When and who to contact if overdue:_________________________________________________

Renter Initial

Communication and Signaling

Float Plan

Renter Initial

Operator and passengers have received instructions on how to safely operate the boat.

Renter Initial

Boat Operator:__________________________________________________________________
Company Name:________________________________________________________________
Date:_________________________________________________________________________

The above named boat operator and vendor has completed the Watercraft Rental Orientation 

Renter’s Receipt: Watercraft Rental Orientation


