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Water Rights in Alaska 
What are water rights? 
A water right is a legal right to use surface or 
ground water that is granted pursuant to the Alaska 
Water Use Act (AS 46.15).  A water right allows a 
specific amount of water from a specific water 
source to be diverted, impounded, or withdrawn for 
a specific use.  When a water right is granted, it 
becomes appurtenant to the land where the water is 
being used for as long as the water is used.  If the 
land is sold, the water right transfers with the land 
to the new owner, unless the Department of 
Natural Resources (DNR) approves its separation 
from the land.  In Alaska, because water wherever 
it naturally occurs is a common property 
resource, landowners do not have automatic 
rights to ground water or surface water.  For 
example, if a farmer has a creek running 
through his property, he will need a water right to 
authorize his use of a significant amount of water.  
Using water without a permit or certificate does not 
give the user a legal right to use the water. 

How do I obtain a water right? 
To obtain water rights in Alaska, you need to 
submit an application for water rights to the DNR 
office in the area of the water use.  After your 
application is processed, you may be issued a 
permit to drill a well or divert the water.  Once you 
have established the full amount of water that you 
use beneficially and have complied with all of the 
permit conditions, a certificate of appropriation may 
be issued.  This is the legal document that 
establishes water rights. 

What costs are involved? 
An application for water rights must be 
accompanied by the appropriate filing fee as 
determined by 11 AAC 05.260: 

• $100 for one single-family residence 
or duplex,  or for water use 
associated with one single-family 
residence or duplex.

• $1,500 for up to 60 hours of staff time, 
for activities related to oil and gas and 
associated substances.

• $1,500 for up to  60 hours of staff time, 
for activities related to locatable mining.

• $1,500 for up to 60 hours of staff time, 
for hydroelectric power generation 
capacity greater than 100 kilowatts. 

• $1,500 for up to 60 hours of 
staff time, for water removal
out of a hydrologic unit under 
AS 46.15.035 or 46.15.037.

• $250 for 5,000 gallons per day (gpd) or less 
for a use not listed above.

• $565 for greater than 5,000 gpd and no 
more than 30,000 gpd  for a use not listed 
above.

• $690 for greater than 30,000 gpd and no 
more than 100,000 gpd for a use not listed 
above.

• $1,125 for greater than 100,000 gpd for a 
use not listed above. 

To ensure that the public is notified of proposed 
water uses, you may be required to pay the cost of 
a legal advertisement in at least one issue of a local 
newspaper in the area of the proposed water use. 
Public notice is required if the application 
amount is greater than 5,000 gpd.  Public 
notice may be required for uses of 5,000 gpd or 
less if the water source is an anadromous fish 
stream or the water source has a high level of 
competition among water users.  In addition, 
permit, certificate, and authorization holders 
are subject to an annual $50 administrative 
service fee.  Water appropriations of 500 gpd or 
less for any use, appropriations of 1,500 gpd or 
less for a single-family residence or duplex, and 
reservations of water for public benefit are 
exempt from the annual fee. 

Why should I apply for water rights? 
1. If you have water rights, you have legal 

standing to assert those rights against 
conflicting water users who do not have water 
rights.

2. A person with water rights has priority to use 
water over persons who later file for water 
rights from the same source.

3. Anyone who diverts, impounds, withdraws or 
uses a significant amount of water, without a 
permit, certificate, or authorization is guilty of a 
misdemeanor (AS 46.15.180). A significant 
amount of water is defined by 11 AAC 
93.035(a) and (b) as:  



• the consumptive use of more than 5,000
gallons of water from a single source in a
single day;

• the regular daily or recurring consumptive
use of more than 500 gpd from a single
source for more than 10 days per calendar
year;

• the non-consumptive use of more than
30,000 gpd (0.05 cubic feet per second)
from a single source; or

• any water use that may adversely affect the
water rights of other appropriators or the
public interest.

4. By filing for water rights, you provide valuable
information about water use and water
availability in Alaska.  Water right records are
updated and maintained in an online database.
This system contains data on customers, water
right status, water source (well depth or water
body name), type of water use, water quantity,
period of water use, water right priority date,
and property description (meridian, township,
range, section, quarter sections, latitude and
longitude, subdivision name or survey number,
tract, block, and lot).  Currently, the water right
database has over 24,000 records.  This
information allows state water managers to
estimate present uses of water, determine how
much water is available from streams and
aquifers in the state, protect established water
right holders, prevent over-appropriation of
water sources, and manage the state’s water
resources.

What other water resources authorizations are 
available from the Department of Natural 
Resources? 
• Dam Safety: A certificate of approval is required

for constructing or modifying a dam that
impounds 50 acre-feet of water and is at least
10 feet high, or is at least 20 feet high, or poses
a threat to life and property.  An application
form and the fee prescribed by 11 AAC
05.260(c)(2) should be filed with the
Department of Natural Resources.

• Instream Flow: A certificate is required for
maintaining a specific flow in a portion of
stream or water level in a lake.  An instream
flow reservation can be made to protect fish
and wildlife habitat, migration, and propagation;
recreation and park purposes; navigation and
transportation purposes; and sanitary and water
quality purposes.  An application form and the
fee prescribed by 11 AAC 05.260 should

be filed with the Department of Natural 
Resources.  

How do I obtain authorization for short-term 
water use (temporary water use authorization) 
A temporary water use authorization may be 
needed if the amount of water to be used is a 
significant amount, the use continues for less than 
five consecutive years, and the water to be used is 
not appropriated.  This authorization does not 
establish a water right but will avoid conflicts with 
fisheries and existing water right holders. The 
application fee for a temporary water use 
authorization is $450 for up to 18 hours of staff 
time for all uses of water from up to five water 
sources. 

Where can I get more information? 
More information is available in the Department of 
Natural Resources’ fact sheets on Administrative 
Service Fee, Dam Safety in Alaska, Reserving 
Water for Instream Use, Federal Reserved Water 
Rights, and Alaska Hydrologic Survey.  Further 
information and application forms may be obtained 
from the following offices or visit 
www.dnr.alaska.gov/mlw/water/. 

Department of Natural Resources 
Water Resources Section 

Anchorage Office 
550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 1020 

Anchorage, AK 99501-3562 
Phone: (907) 269-8600 

Fax: (907) 269-8904 

Fairbanks Office 
3700 Airport Way 

Fairbanks, AK 99709-4699 
Phone: (907) 451-2705 

Fax: (907) 451-2703 

Juneau Office 
PO Box 111020 

400 Willoughby Avenue, #400 
Juneau, AK 99811-1020 
Phone: (907) 465-3400 

Fax: (907) 586-2954 

http://www.dnr.state.ak.us/mlw/water/index.htm

	Fact Sheet
	Water Rights in Alaska
	Department of Natural Resources
	Water Resources Section






